DataBuilder class

Hi, I am new to C++ and trying to develop custom HLA analyzer by following instruction from Analyzer_API.md.

Document has below statement but I couldn’t able to find any reference or further explanation about DataBuilder. I was wondering Is DataBuilder a standard class in C++? I tried to google it but no luck.
" Similar, but reversed, is the DataBuilder class, but as this generally used for collecting data, we’ll talk more about it then."

Hello @raji.grc,

Thanks for writing in! Sorry for the confusion with this.

First some additional background:

We have two different ways to create analyzers for the software.

We have high level analyzers (HLAs) which are written in python, and can create new results, by processing the results produced by our low level analyzers.

Second, we have low level analyzers (usually just called analyzers). These are written in C++, and are able to produce data by processing the raw digital signals that are recorded.

Low level analyzers are best for processing a new protocol format that can’t be decoded by any of our existing analyzers.

High level analyzers are best for post-processing existing results. For example, our low level I2C analyzer just decodes address and data bytes. However, an HLA could be created to interpret the register values for a particular IC, producing much more descriptive results.

The Analyzer_API.md file really needs to be updated, and it only applies to our C++ low level analyzer API.

You mentioned you were developing a custom HLA analyzer. If you’re just developing an HLA (as described above) you will use Python, and should start here:

However, if you’re trying to develop a low level analyzer, either by itself, or with the intent of creating an HLA along with your LLA, then you should start here:

Finally, to answer your question about DataBuilder.