Measure CAN bus

Hello,

Disclaimer : I am a beginner in electronics :grinning:.

I want to measure the difference between CAN H and CAN L onthe CAN bus with my Logic analyzer.
So, I plugged CAN H on pin 1 and CAN L on GND (associated to pin 1), so that Channel 1 will have CAN H - CAN L as voltage.
Unfortunately, I am not able to see anything.

Could you explain me why ?
Best,
A.F

@bebedulac Thanks for writing in about this. In short, we do not recommend connecting our Logicā€™s GND pin to anything other than GND on your DUT. This is because, if your DUT somehow shares the same GND bus as the PC that your Logic device is connected to, a short to GND may occur (i.e. CAN L will be shorted to GND).

Our recommendations for hooking up to a CAN bus is described in the support article below:

If you run into any issues with that, feel free to let me know which specific Saleae Logic model you own, as well as a copy of your capture file (in .sal file format).

Thank you @timreyes for your reply !
My DUT is powered by an external generator. I am using a Logic 16 Pro analyzer.

I connected one pin on CAN L and the other on the GND of my DUT. However I am not able to see any valuable signal (only noise I think, see capture). I am sure, there is can activity, as I see it on Wireshark with my usb-can dongle.
Session 1.sal (437.6 KB)
How can we explain that ?

1 Like

Itā€™s hard, thereā€™s no getting around that. Measuring CAN with a logic analyzer is going to be hit or miss. Having said that, your capture looks awful (sorry, no other way to really say thatā€¦) Itā€™s absolutely wonderful that you have the analog capture as well. Thatā€™s immensely helpful! The analog capture looks nothing at all like CAN. There are a few big problems.

1. CAN is a digital signal so there should be hard, sharp transitions. You donā€™t have that.