Decoding quirky SPI and general feedback

I’ve got a device that talks SPI (as a slave), but due to device’s internals it does not follow SPI protocol precisely (e.g. in CPOL=0, CPHA=0 it launches data too quickly) which makes SPI decoder incorrectly decode data, even though SPI master understands it properly. I have a high level analyzer for the protocol on top of SPI, but due to those decoding errors it is hard to reason about it and I’m forced to reverify data by looking at raw signals, which is not very convenient. I thought it would be nice to shift all signals on MISO channel e.g. 50ns, so that SPI decoder decodes it correctly.

So, I started looking at file formats in order to modify data in them and make SPI decoder (and me) happy. I studied binary format, but it didn’t work for me. Later I discovered that it was an OLD format, and the .sal format I have is new, undocumented with no way to create my own (apparently I can export data into older formats through Logic2 automation, but not import it). Bummer.

Ok, what if I can create my own SPI decoder that interprets signals incorporating proper delays where needed?! I have downloaded an SPI low level decoder project, built and plugged it in, but then I find out that high level analyzers only support just a few built in low-level decoders, not custom ones. WAT?!

Any advise?

PS ideally it would be nice to

1. have a library (both in C/C++ and Python) to manipulate raw data. It takes a capture (.sal) file, reads and decodes it, then gives you view of that data in a way that is easy to work with/manipulate. And it works both ways, so you can create signals and when saving it will properly encode it.
  2. have high level analyzers working with custom low-level decoders.