Logic 2 UX is a regression from Logic 1

Hello Saleae team, I first want to say that your product is amazing and I’ve had my Logic Pro 16 since 2015. I’ve had no hardware issues with it besides using it so much that the blue LED has worn out and it can’t show purple or white anymore! :slight_smile: Logic is an invaluable tool for my embedded development workflow. I mainly use it for debugging protocols like I2C, SPI, CAN, etc.

I’ve been using Logic 1 for several years, and switched over to Logic 2 last year. After getting some time with it, I have things I like and many things I really don’t like much.

There were a lot of convenient UI features in Logic 1 that are missing in Logic 2. Most of these aren’t a big problem or dealbreaker, but all together I feel it makes using Logic 2 slower and a little more frustrating of an experience than Logic 1.

1. The live view is nowhere near live anymore. I set up the same capture in 2.4.14 and 1.2.29 (6 digital channels, 500MS/s, no analyzers, no signals changing, 30s capture). In Logic 1, as soon as the 30s capture ends, all the data is available to view. In Logic 2, it takes 30 additional seconds before all the data can be seen. Again, this is with no analyzers and not even any edges in the signals.

For me, this is especially egregious because one of the main ways I use Logic is to start a capture, wait for the event to happen (by watching the live display), then stop the capture. I can’t do this at all in Logic 2 because after only a few seconds of capture, the live view is already behind by seconds. I of course used Logic fine before this feature was added, but now that I’ve had it it’s so useful and I’m sad that it doesn’t work nearly as well anymore.
(Edit: This doesn’t seem to happen on 250MS/s, though it didn’t happen at all on Logic 1)