Timecode Analyzer Request

Has anyone looked into or interested in developing a SMPTE Linear Time Code Analyzer? The protocol is well documented but I have no experience in creating analyzers. Is there a good tutorial on how to create custom analyzers. Looking for an estimate on the development time it would take to create this analyzer.

Here is a Link for the Protocol:

Thanks in Advance!

@Jaboop Thanks for writing in! I’m not too familiar with Linear timecode, but I took a look at the link you shared and noticed that it mentions the following:

The bits are encoded using the biphase mark code (also known as FM )

We do have a built-in Manchester analyzer as per the below image, which includes the ability to decode in Bi-Phase Mark Code mode.

Could that potentially work out for you as an “out-of-the-box” solution?

Ooh, I’ll bet this would make a good python HLA!

@Jaboop, do you have a sample capture of this data? If so, I encourage you to post it!

We could recommend a python HLA that uses the output of our Manchester analyzer. You can learn more about creating HLAs here:

Our tutorial is fairly limited, but I suggest looking at our example HLAs.

Here is a sample capture of the timecode data over 10 seconds. (there is a small blip after 10 seconds where the Timecode device was disconnected). I attached the Manchester Analyzer that @timreyes suggested and used a bits/frame of 40 since LTC uses 80 bits/frame but the analyzer doesn’t have that option. I also changed the User Bits on the TimeCode Generator from 00:00:00:00 to FF:FF:FF:FF right aroung the 9.14 second mark on the Logic Capture. Currently working on decoding the hex to see if this analyzer will work as a stepping stone to a LTC analyzer

TimeCodewUserBitsChange.sal (77.8 KB)

Thanks for sending that over! That’s great to hear the manchester analyzer puts us at a great starting point. It certainly sounds like an HLA would be the best solution.